The Regal Child of Africa

Photography by: Regalchild at the Johannesburg Zoo 2009

Often people have asked me about the name Regalchild, so I thought this would be the right time for me to share how it came about.
A little more than ten years ago, Cammy, a high school friend of mine, gave the poem “Our Deepest Fear” -Marianne Williamson  to me as a gift. It was very appropriate at the time in my life, something I needed to read (hear). And for many years I stuck it to my wall near my desk as a constant reminder of who I was in this universe – a CHILD OF GOD, but more than that, what it truly meant to be a child of God. If God was King, then I was a child of the King and that made me a child (for humility) but of a regal nature (to help me understand and accept my destiny). Years later Regalchild became a name I identified with. In fact, if you see it the way I see it, it makes us all regal children.
Then that doesn’t make us any special does it? Not true, it’s important to understand the ability of God to truly create within all of us something truly special.
Allow me to explain it this way: If each time you bought a suit it was an Armani, would you say none of them were special because they were all by the same designer? Those who appreciate the art of design would certainly agree with me that each Armani is something special. It is special because each Armani is designed differently from the other. Yet, it was and still would be an Armani. You are and still will be a Regalchild. You are a God creation. No matter how life has been for you. The sooner you realise and acknowledge your regal status in God’s eyes, the easier it is for you to receive the blessings he has in store for you. Soon you begin to understand the truth Williamson writes about when she says “there’s nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We are born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us, it’s in everyone.”
If the world understood this, and more especially close to heart, if Africa could absorb the truth in this and then begin to live out regally through the choices we make and behavior towards each other, I believe this would truly change this continent for the better. Our thoughts and actions towards each other are influenced by the way we see and think of ourselves. If we began to acknowledge the regal child within each of us we would see a change in how we treat each other, the decisions we make and how we take care of our world.
“…We are born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us, it’s in everyone…”

One thought on “The Regal Child of Africa

Leave a Reply

